How scientific are the need-based theories?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medpsych0

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an upper level undergrad studying psychology (after doing a degree in math), having taken a few upper level courses on abnormal psychology and clinical psychology already. One of the issues that bothers me is all the focus on need-based views of human beings. It bothers me because a lot of them seem more "well-intentioned" than scientific. It seems to me that the humanistic view came out as reaction to dehumanizing view of people at the time in the larger culture and society, and also other psychological theories like behaviorism, but that it does not have the strong empirical support many other theories have. In reviewing the literature, I have come across several dozen so-called "needs" and I can not find any conclusive evidence for which is more important or fundamental or even what a need actually is. Is it more like a preference, a drive, a desire? Is a psychological need the same as physiological need, like need for food or oxygen? Obviously not. Should an unfulfilled need lead to death or is it enough to throw the body off emotional balance (happiness? peace?), like lead to distress or discomfort, for something to be labeled a need.