how to prepare yourself?

FutureDoctor06

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Upon further research on the application cycle, I want to know some tips on becoming a top applicant to the top medical schools. I want to be that guy that gets interviews to all these top schools and get some nice scholarships(I can dream). I wonder how I can go on to achieve this?

I am an incoming freshman and have heard of the importance of research and publications. How can I beef up my ECs and start getting into this stuff?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
If you scroll down the list of recent threads there's one called "Guide to being a successful freshman pre-med" or something like that. I personally found a ton of useful information in and let's you know how to really get off on the right foot.

General advice for your first semester:
  • Prioritize your classes. Some students transition easily into college, while others find the classes overwhelming. There's no point in joining 10 different clubs if it causes your GPA to suffer. Ask for help if you need it: go to office hours, study sessions, and tutoring before the last two weeks of the semester.
  • Find a volunteer activity that you enjoy. It does not have to be related to medicine, and no, volunteering in a research lab doesn't count. Your university may have a volunteer center that can help you get involved.
  • Build relationships with your professors, particularly your science professors. This may lead to opportunities down the road, like hearing about openings in labs. You can talk to profs about research positions now if you want, but most people do not start research their very first semester.