How to study for Step 3

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chesspro_md

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
What are the good study guides for Step 3. I have a couple of months off before residency starts so I am going to try and take Step 3 early. So any type of study advice would be wonderful.

Thanks, Chess.:cool:

Members don't see this ad.

Background: I am a 1st year path resident straight from med school (no intern year) who passed in October, 5 months out from med school (218/89)

#1: Kaplan QBank. Weel worth the money. Numerous hits on the exam.
#2: Do the CCS sample cses from the USMLE a few times.
#3: Crush Step 3
#4: Boards and Wards
#5: For quick review, Step 3 made ridiculously simple.

Members don't see this ad :)
i'm taking it in 4 days and haven't studied like i had planned. being on call q3-4 for the whole year just leaves me too tired to read.

can anyone tell me how the days are scheduled.

day 1: how many blocks?
day 2: MCQs and clinical cases? how many blocks of each?

it's crazy how i knew the ins and outs of step 1 months before i took it. i don't even know what to expect on step 3. this could be disastrous.

Step 3 day:

Day 1: 8 blocks of 48 questions each.
Day 2: 4 blocks of 35 questions each, followed by 9 CCS cases.

Suggestion: Download the CCS cases from the USMLE and practice them so you'll be familiar with the format.

Why did I study so much? Because I went straight path and was scared about taking a test designed for people having just finished their intern year.

just finished step 3 today.

i don't think i did too well on the 9 cases.

does anyone know how those are graded (i.e. combined with the MCQs for a score or do you need to get a passing grade on the cases independently of the MCQs?

thanks.