How would this bad year be seen by adcoms?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adran49

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
As the title suggests I had one really rough year during undergrad and I am curious how it would be seen by adcoms within the context of my entire undergrad career. So here's the story.

I am a first-generation college student who didn't apply to any colleges out of high school and went to a community college. I had no idea what I wanted to do so I took some basic college courses to feel it out. After 1 year of CC I had a 3.27 GPA.

I transferred to an out of state state school for computer science. I totally bombed this whole year. The first semester I failed computer programming 1 and calc 1. I ended the first semester with a 1.08 GPA then I switched my major and finished my second semester with about a 3.1 GPA (but one 4 credit class is listed as incomplete). Overall, my GPA there was a 2.1. There are no excuses for why I did so bad, I was young, immature, I had no idea what I wanted to do and school was never important to me. Straight up- I blew it, totally my fault.

Then overnight, my whole attitude towards school changed. I transferred to a 3rd school, started a psych degree and finished the 2.5 years I was there with a 3.9 GPA, years of research in many labs, 2 pubs, tons of volunteering, leadership roles, academic awards, and so on. Even though I know AMCAS doesn't do grade replacement I retook Calc 1 and got an A and took Calc 2 and got a B+. I took half of the prereqs with Bio1+2- A, Chem 1-A-, Chem 2-B+.

Now I am enrolled in a formal post-bacc to finish my prereqs.

My overall GPA will be somewhere between 3.4-3.5, and my sGPA somewhere between 3.5-3.6.