HS student needs help to make a pathway to become a PT!!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Messi2199

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a sophomore in HS and need some advice to create steps to become a PT

1.) what classes should I take in HS to create a better chance to get into good colleges?

2.) what can I do outside of school to gain experience?

3.) are there different types of PT's

4.) is there any scholarships I should look for?

5.) I really want to get into northeastern, can I do anything to get a better chance of getting accepted?

6.) any advice you can give me to create a pathway to get a successful career is really appreciate!!! Can you guys can give me like a guideline/ outline of things I can and should do

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Can anyone please help?? Any answer is appreciated!!

Dual enrollment or AP sciences is the best bet, however , even the PTCAS application says do not include high school extra curriculum.

Posted using SDN Mobile

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm starting the graduate phase of Northeastern's DPT program in Jan, so I could answer questions about applying with a BS. I am assuming though, that you are interested in the freshman entry which I'm not too familiar with. The best advice I think would be to take core science and math classes that will prepare you for the college level a&p, bio, chem, and physics that you will take in the undergrad portion while keeping your GPA 3.7+. If you want to pm me with some specific questions I'll do my best to help you out later today when I'm out of work.

Last edited:
1.) Take the most advanced-level classes you can handle. Honors/AP for sure.

2.) Try doing a bit of shadowing. Some places limit the number of hours HS students can observe though.

3.) I'm sure you're able to do your own research one this. The Interweb is a wonderful place.