HSPH: switch department before enrollment?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

littleprince

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I really need your help.

I'm having a big headache over my decision in choosing department. I was accepted to the Health Policy and Management dept. at Harvard (Policy track) in Feb. Unfortunately for me, I didn't do sufficient research before making my decision and only realize now that the quant-econ intensive program may not be the best choice for me.

I'm an international student, have a fair GRE score (160V 165Q 4.5W), very good LoRs, and ample on-the-ground experience working in a developing country on HIV/AIDS. With all that, Global Health is probably the more logical choice.

Does anyone know if it's possible to ask for a switch among departments? I've seen somewhere that Global Health is actually harder to get into than HPM - so do they allow such a switch? Should I wait until after enrollment to ask, or should I go and ask right away? I'm feeling so bad since I've been contacting the dean of HPM, and she is just so nice and kind and helpful....

What should I do? Help please!

Thanks so much.

Members don't see this ad.

No matter what we advise, at some point you'll have to talk to someone at HSPH to get the best solution since they know the unique system of HSPH better than many of us do. The question right now is who to talk to. Find someone who is a 3rd party who will be willing to help. Perhaps talk to the people who lead Global Health since they will have to be the one to let you in even if your HPM dean lets you leave. Be honest with how you've come to this decision ("I'm happy that I was in HPM, but after giving some time to self evaluate my application/goals and reflect, I realized that my interest lie more in Global Health"). If they don't let you switch, then at least you're at HSPH, one of the best schools in the world.