I am a Senior Biological Sciences Instructor with Examkrackers. AMA about MCAT!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medschoolappl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know what to show for proof. Mods can message me if they need something specific.

I scored 97th percentile when I took the exam in 2010. I am editing the 8th edition of their biology and organic chemistry textbooks right now as well as working on a series of AAMC practice test review DVDs. I have taught both BS and PS for over a year in one-on-one and classroom settings. Ask me anything about the MCAT!

Members don't see this ad.

People seem to feel like the BS section has changed recently - for the worse, into something more difficult than the AAMCs. What is the best way to prepare for the BS section?

@Emmerson I don't think this is true. I have taken all the AAMC practice exams and I think they accurately reflect both the content and difficulty of the real thing. It is true that organic is slowly being de-emphasized in favor of biochemistry and molecular biology topics, but these changes largely won't come into effect until the 2015 revision.

The best way to prepare is having a really solid grounding in the subject areas covered. Get the official inventory of topics from AAMC's website and make sure you understand all of the topics. Then, use the official practice exams to form an idea about how high yield each topic is and how well you really understand them (reflected in the diagnostic report). This will give you a more targeted approach to your studying. Also, one of the unspoken truths about the BS section, is that it is rather physiology intensive. Take a physiology class if you can and preferentially over an upper level class in biochem or cell bio. You can do well without a formal course but make sure you have physiology down cold. It is very likely that you did not cover most of the topics in your intro bio class.