I cannot do rote memorization.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Susanoo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you've read my past threads you've probably seen a recurring trend... It's still recurring (lol). I think I pinpointed the cause of my academic struggles though. I just cannot seem to rote memorize information. If it is not conceptually grounded in something, but is just information to memorize, then I just fail the exams and my grade in the class is practically based on guessing, and some occasional questions that I did happen to remember. I get mostly B's in my science courses.

I'm in my last year of undergrad now, and I am struggling more than ever, as my classes are also more rote memorization based than before... I think I am intelligent enough (my professionally tested IQ is 120, which is 91st percentile), to figure out concepts, so conceptually my classes are not outside of my intellectual grasp. However, in terms of rote memorization, which doesn't necessarily correlate with intelligence (at least in terms of critical thinking and in terms of IQ test-based intelligence, please don't start an IQ test debate here, I don't care enough to proceed with that), I just cannot do well...

My study plan as of right now, so you can gasp what I'm doing:
1. Go to classes and record lectures if the lectures are not uploaded online.
2. Listen to lectures very slowly and take written notes until I have every bit of information. 45 minute lectures take 2 hours to listen to, since I am getting every single sentence the professor says.
3. If I have time, transcribe these notes to my computer in an organized fashion. Since my written notes are a complete mess.
4. Color coordinate these notes, and maybe make flash cards.
5. At this point, it's already the night before my exam, or maybe the day of my exam. So, I don't usually review my notes too many times, or at least not the bulk of it.