I can't decide if I really want to be a physician...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thill26

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm currently a freshman in college and have am on a pre-med track. Well every now and then I get these mixed feelings about whether or not I want this or something else. Usually, I'm pretty set on it and excited to make it as a physician. But on occasion, I get a different outlook and consider other professions. I just really want to decide now so I don't waste these 4 years of undergrad.
Here's my reasons for wanting to become a doctor:
  • I love helping others and making them feel good. Honestly, I've lived my life just trying to help out others and feel that as a doctor I can do that on a different medium.
  • Solid work hours for specialties I'm interested in (other than surgery)
  • Very STABLE and large income, be able to provide for my family, pay back loans, and live comfortably
  • Medical school is something to accomplish. I'd love to conquer that challenge and become the first doctor in my family.
  • I really enjoy learning about the human body and people.
  • Ability to own your own practice

Now today is one of those days I'm just not feeling it. I'd rather take my chances in the business world or as an entrepreneur.
Reasons for that are:
  • Make a ton of money, possibly
  • Not as much arduous schooling
  • I've grown up around business and entrepreneurs (father and various family and friends) and have connections
  • I could see myself as an executive
  • Also enjoy learning and executing business