I didn't get into dental school this cycle...now what?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jordiieb

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from Binghamton University May 2014. I took a gap year to study for the DAT, take the time to apply to schools without the stress of my undergraduate courses. I got a 17 on the DAT and had ~3.0 GPA. I knew my grades were not competitive, however I took the leap to apply to the northeast schools anyways to see what my chances were. I could not imagine having a second year off from schooling. With this, I did not get accepted into any of the schools. I have great experience in many dental offices and I do volunteer work. I have been working since September at an orthodontic practice as an assistant where I get to work on patients in some degrees and I have loved it. However, with this academic year coming to a close, it is time for me to buckle down and figure out my next moves...I believe I should retake some of my science pre-requisite courses over the summer/fall/spring semesters (where I was told I can take at my community college (Nassau CC)) and retake the DAT. Is anyone else in this same position as me? I am incredibly stressed about having to take yet another gap year. Is anyone doing any abroad volunteering or doing any kind of research they know if with positions available. I live on LI but am willing to travel to Manhattan if anyone has any recommendations of what to do to build up my resume so I can get into dental school for the 2016 cycle! Thank you all and good luck to everyone else out there!

Members don't see this ad.