I hate ACA! ObamaCare Sucks!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

southerndoc

life is good
Volunteer Staff
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
The ACA has to be one of the worst things to ever happen in the insurance industry. Our very large health system doesn't take a particular health exchange plan, and we must transfer these patients to a hospital that does. The last time I had a guy with appendicitis, it took 5 1/2 hours to get approval for him to be operated on at my institution v. transferring him. I've had admissions that had to be transferred because of it.

Fast forward to today when I find out that the health insurance I have is not accepted at the health system where I work (I'm an independent contractor). So if I require admission, I will need to be transferred to another hospital in Atlanta that is pretty far from where we live. Our daughter had to visit the ED last week, and I can only wonder what kind of bill I will receive.

I logged onto Blue Cross/Blue Shield's website to try to change insurance only to find you can only change insurance plans during open enrollment periods. That means I have to wait until November to change plans. Previously, I could change plans at any time I chose.

The insurance my wife and I had -- both individual policies -- were terminated at the end of 2013 despite Obama's claims that individuals would be able to keep their current policies. Like many Americans, my family found that to be a lie.

So hat's off to Obama and the Democrats for creating the worst healthcare law ever, and probably one of the worst pieces of legislature ever to be signed into law in the history of democracy.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 4 users
bth_Snob-YOU-SEEM-ANGRY-WHY-U-MAD-BRAH-.jpg