I need advice. Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nontraditionallady

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I need advice.

I’m a nontraditional student (30) and am currently in the process of being verified for this cycle. I have a great GPA (3.9/3.6 sci) but a poor MCAT (502.) For this cycle, I won’t be applying DO. I consider DO a backup choice that I would only do after having another go of MCAT studying/retaking the test.

My 502 MCAT was taken two weeks ago. The breakdown was 122/127/128/125. That’s an unusual breakdown for me. I can’t quite figure out the points, but normally percentile wise it’s 30s/90s/60s/80s. I’m not sure what happened with psych/soc. I am please with bio.

I live in a state where there are three MD programs, all of which have an average MCAT of somewhere around 507-510. I have a great application: weird life experiences, I’m earning a PhD in a liberal arts subject, unique activities. I’ve talked to ex-admission committee members (prior to seeing my MCAT, obviously) who told me my application would leap off the table at me. So the only thing holding me back in the MCAT score.

The twenty schools I had edited down to were typically schools with average MCATS between 505-510. I’ve always felt that this was doable for me. And I know I get there if I have another crack at the MCAT.

I’m not sure if I can do that by August 29th, however, which was when I was planning to retake it. I know typically you’re “on time” in a normal cycle if you get all your materials in by Labor Day, but I’m unlikely to even be VERRIFIED by Labor Day. I submitted my application on July the 6th and they were quoting eight weeks. I have no reason to not take them at their world.