I need your help. My chances of getting accepted.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

haee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I graduated in May 2013, took DAT in 2014, and applied late in October for 2014-2015 cycle.
I do not get any acceptance from any school, and I want to reapply for upcoming cycle again.
Would you please tell me what my weaknesses are and things that I need to improve?

PAT: 21
QR: 19
RC: 18
BIO: 20
GC: 23
OC: 20
TC: 21
AA: 20

oGPA: 3.48
sGPA: 3.28

I have more than 1000+ hours of community service, 100+ hours of shadowing(I've recently started to shadow another dentist), and I am helping a research at University.

And also, I am thinking about retaking DAT because my DAT score is average while my GPA is not high.
My pre-health adviser urges me not to take it because he thinks the score is competitive. What do you think?

Please give any advise.. I really need your help. Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Shouldn't you be posing this question to the ds you are interested in?

Members don't see this ad :)
You're DAT scores are fine, I would focus on raising your science GPA because that's most likely what is holding you back. Try to take a couple science classes you know you can get A's in before you apply again. Everything else looks great!

You applied late and you probably did not choose the rights schools to apply to.

Since you are asking for weaknesses, this is a question you should be asking dental schools since they are the ones reviewing you and should be able to say why you were not admitted.

I'll agree with everyone above: You got decent stats! I really think the October submission was the problem.

But beyond that... did you get any interviews? Also, what schools did you apply to?