I want to be an anesthesiologist but I'm afraid of needles?

Hello,
*I just joined a few minutes ago so I do apologize if I am not posting in the right place.*

I am a high-school student, so I am quite young and have time to decide on what I want to do in life. However, complete uncertainty about my future makes me a bit uneasy so I can't help but at least look into a potential career possibility.

I've been researching anesthesiology, and given my title, it probably seems bizarre that I would even think it to be ideal for me. But, I love the overall aspects of this job and what is does for the patient. My thinking is that I'm scared when I get shots myself, but would be fine giving one to others? When I get a shot I don't faint, but my blood pressure rises and I make a pretty unpleasant scene out of fear.

Is this something I can overcome to pursue anesthesiology?
Is giving a shot different than receiving one?
Or am I just downright delusional and would never make it in this field?

Thanks! I appreciate your time and look forward to some advice. :)

Members don't see this ad.

This can be overcome and just takes a bit of getting used to. Finish high school before worrying about specialty choice!

Just remember: giving someone else a shot doesn't hurt at all!

Members don't see this ad :)

Unless they punch you.

Finish high school first. By the time you get to medical school (if you get to medical school) you might have completely changed your mind about what is best for yourself.

CRNA is another option. :idea:

Some students are afraid of going into surgery, yet they do and end up throwing up. There is no shame on that. Quite frankly, you will most likely overcome this insignificant issue :thumbup:

like others have said, give yourself some time, and you can definitely do it.. Good luck :)