"I'm A Doctor: Corporate Greed Is Killing Your ER"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Better late than never. Fix this problem and then we can fix boarding and homelessness 🦄

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Reactions: 2 users
No mention of USUCKS....

I’ve seen a couple of threads on this website discussing the corporate practice of medicine and private equity influence. As usual, I come to provide a contrarian perspective for your consideration.

It’s not that I disagree with the prevailing sentiment that the corporate practice of medicine is bad and needs reform - this is undeniable. I have concerns with the target of everyone’s ire and perhaps your methods.

As bad as players like TeamHeath and EMP/USACS are, I submit they are not the biggest nor most immediate threat to your longevity in this career. Private equity-back EM jobs are only 25% of the employers; you often have other options. Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I submit that the private “nonprofit” healthcare system is a more immediate threat to your profession, and we need to make sure that actions taken to weaken private equity do not feed the gorilla in the china shop. The growth of these private and semi-public systems are a cancer, a true pustule on the ass of healthcare, that is quickly absorbing all manner of physician practices. Last I checked, they now control about 40% of healthcare jobs and show no signs of slowing down. Trust me, they behave nothing like a non-profit charity, and are as tuned into profiteering as any private equity firm. They use every anti-trust trick in the book such as physician non-compete clauses, certificate of need requirements, eminent domain, etc. to undercut competition, drive down physician salaries, and grow. Their CEOs pull salaries that you would expect to see at a major bank.