I'm majoring in Biology but what if I don't make it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fakhter

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I keep telling myself i'm going to get accepted into medical school. While saying that to myself I still think about what happens if I get rejected.

Members don't see this ad.

It's good to think that you're going to succeed, and to do everything you can to make that happen. I think that it is definitely imperative to have a plan B though. Having a plan B doesn't make you less dedicated, it just makes you smart. For example one reason (though not the main reason) I decided to major in biochemistry and chemistry instead of just history was because I knew that if I applied multiple times to medical school and couldn't get in anywhere, I could still find a job in biomedical research or industry which I would enjoy and would support me. My roommate wants to be a dentist but most importantly, she wants to work in healthcare. She's decided that if she really can't get in, she'll apply to nursing school.

I know someone who picked their major because they thought it would help them get into med school, and then when they didn't get in they ended up getting a job in research (one of the few options with this degree the undergraduate level) which they are thoroughly unhappy with.

I keep telling myself i'm going to get accepted into medical school. While saying that to myself I still think about what happens if I get rejected.

If you get rejected, can you see yourself with a career in Biology? If not, why not major in something you see yourself doing in the event you don't get in?

Members don't see this ad :)
If you get rejected, can you see yourself with a career in Biology? If not, why not major in something you see yourself doing in the event you don't get in?