I'm worried I've ruined any plans other than medicine

Mossmoon

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been married for three years and we have had a pretty low income for the whole time. We are both nurse assistants in the UK, but I am a med student and my husband is a student nurse. I desperately want to be a neonatologist (I'll eventually move to the USA, where I am originally from), but I also am not willing to compromise on having a family. I am 26 now and will be about 30 when I graduate. I don't want to be a 40+ year old IVF mother. I have read that a lot of people have babies during med school as this is most convienient, but without a trust fund, this is also not a very nice thing to do for your child. Has anyone else been in this position? Is it really as impossible as so many people that post here make it out to be?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Mossmoon, check out Dr. Au's blog. She's a resident and recent mother... definitely an interesting blog and possibly helpful considering she had her child in her first year of residency, and her husband is a doc as well... Good luck.

http://theunderweardrawer.blogspot.com/

Mossmoon said:
I have been married for three years and we have had a pretty low income for the whole time. We are both nurse assistants in the UK, but I am a med student and my husband is a student nurse. I desperately want to be a neonatologist (I'll eventually move to the USA, where I am originally from), but I also am not willing to compromise on having a family. I am 26 now and will be about 30 when I graduate. I don't want to be a 40+ year old IVF mother. I have read that a lot of people have babies during med school as this is most convienient, but without a trust fund, this is also not a very nice thing to do for your child. Has anyone else been in this position? Is it really as impossible as so many people that post here make it out to be?