IMG applicants 2014-2015

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Opthoaa2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a US graduate switching from general surgery. My friend is an IMG and also applying for ophtho. I got 3 interviews so far.
Is it early for IMGs to get interviews?
Did any one receive invitations?
My friend got ZERO IVs and one rejection.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Is it early for IMGs to get interviews?
Did any one receive invitations?
I will start : i got ZERO IVs and one rejection.

1) no it's not too early to have an interview, but most places have not sent out invites yet.

2) as you know, it's hard to be an IMG in the match. You need amazing letters from amazing people. and Research from a great place. High step scores are also kind of expected in this applicant pool.

1) no it's not too early to have an interview, but most places have not sent out invites yet.

2) as you know, it's hard to be an IMG in the match. You need amazing letters from amazing people. and Research from a great place. High step scores are also kind of expected in this applicant pool.

I know it is hard, he is not expecting much.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Just 1 interview here and 1 rejection. IMGs tend to receive less interviews. As far as I have heard. So maybe things will improve in the next few weeks for us.

Though im not an IMG...im a DO and looked at poorly in ophtho as well....just 2 invites so far. Hopefully things pick up. Are any of you starting to make back up plans yet?

Yeh DOs are pretty much in the same boat I guess. Would you try for the DO match later?
No back up plans for me yet.

I have applied to some DO programs as a back up but those generally only take those that rotate with them....which I didnt