Important question about dropping classes before matriculation.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HOPEFUL09

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So here is my situation. I graduated last May but decided to continue taking classes in my year off in order to keep my insurance and for something to do I guess. This semester I would not have taken classes but financial aid at my school messed my package up last semester (they gave me too much money and didn't realize it until the end of the semester, and the money was already gone towards bills, etc.). They told me that they could award me "extra" money to cover the bill only if I took classes this semester. So I enrolled in a few hours of stuff I thought might be interesting. Moving ahead, I got an interview and was accepted to a DO school. I have heard that it is important to have your finances in order before starting school and I have built up some credit card debt I wanted to get rid of before starting in August. I also wanted to make sure my credit score was high enough to get outside loans in the fall if I need them.

After being accepted I spoke with my advisor and she told me it was ok for me to drop my classes so I can pick up more shifts at work to work on paying off that debt. Not to mention, none of the classes count towards my degrees or prerequisites for medical school. So I dropped the classes and have been working extra hours since then.