Impression of Med/Peds Programs from those who matched??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jimmybee

Internal Medicine Hospitalist, formerly med/peds
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am just finishing my third year and I plan to go into med/peds next year. Right now, I was trying to get an idea of the different med/peds programs that people applied to this year. In particular, I am interested in finding out about those programs that are spread out in states that only have a one or two programs so I don't waste any of my money applying to schools that aren't that great to begin with. I am a michigan resident and my medical school is located there, but my fiancee really would like to go somewhere warm. So, while I want to know what people think about all of the programs, I also am really interested in learning about the programs in the south and the west. Especially, smaller programs like U of Mississippi, N.Orleans schools, South carolina.

Thanks....

Members don't see this ad.

UNC and Vanderbilt both have excellent med-peds programs. And it's warm, there.

Yeah.....I know they are good, but what is good about them? Are they competative? Is medicine or peds better than the other at them? How was the faculty, residents, etc? Thanks

Members don't see this ad :)
I interviewed at Vanderbilt... it is a small program, taking only 4 Med-Peds interns per year. My impression is that Medicine is stronger at Vandy, but I think with the new free-standing Children's Hospital, this might change in the future. I would highly recommend looking at this program (especially over University of Tennessee in Memphis).

I canceled my interview at UNC, but I heard that it is a good program as well, it's just that the hospitals are rather spread out.