Improved Chances with Masters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhiKappaGuy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied in the Summer of 2014 and got rejected from all schools that I applied to. I graduated my undergrad with a BS in Biology with a 3.6 overall, a 3.5 in science, and an 18 AA on my DATs. I am going back this Fall to start to get my Masters in Applied and Industrial Chemistry and I am retaking my DATs in November with the hopes of improving my scores. I also have 250 hours of interning (200 under a dentist; 50 under an oral surgeon), as well as a 1.5 years of independent research with plant viruses.

The one dentist I interned under had similar grades as me but only had a 16 AA on her DATs and didn't improve them the second time she took them. After getting her Masters though, she was admitted to a dental school.

So how much will a Masters actually improve my chances of getting into a dentistry school?

Members don't see this ad.

I only took one DAT, I hope I'll be okay >.<!

The one dentist I interned under had similar grades as me but only had a 16 AA on her DATs and didn't improve them the second time she took them. After getting her Masters though, she was admitted to a dental school.

So how much will a Masters actually improve my chances of getting into a dentistry school?

From your current stats I believe you could apply broadly and have a shot at interviews and possibly get accepted. If your DAT becomes 20+ then you'll have a good shot at a lot of schools.