In need of some guidance...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docE15

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You need to take the pre-reqs

Members don't see this ad :)
I am new here to SDN and I feel like I am in a position where I have no one else to go to. All my life I knew I was going to be a physician. I was in the IB program in high school and with that I graduated with a year of college credits under my belt. I started college as a sophomore and it was a slap in the face when it came to stress. My GPA was not terrible, but I did switch to Physical Therapy because (1) it was an easier path and (2) I was infatuated with the musculoskeletal system. So here I am now, already submitted my graduation application at 20 years old, but after shadowing for 300+ hours it finally hit me that I was in love with the science and not the practice. I also crave the involvement MD/DO's have in patient care. So I am now pursuing MD/DO schools but am completely lost.
My stats so far:
3.72cGPA/ 3.65sGPA/ no MCAT as of yet
ECs: (I believe this is the issue, I barely got involved)
-Group fitness instructor
-Clinical internship with PT
-Youth group leader
-Feeding the homeless
-Some independent chemistry/math tutoring
-Worked as a medical receptionist under both Psychiatrists and OB/GYNs for 2 years (separate practices, of course)
I have so many questions running through my head.
(1) Should I withdraw my graduation application and continue as a full-time student to take Orgo I/II, and Bio II, English 1/2 (since many MD/DO schools don't recognize IB) as well as join some professional societies and apply as a TA or university tutor?
(2) Graduate, apply as a non-trad and take the courses post-bacc while doing volunteer research and other volunteer EC's?
(3) Give up and live miserably?