Insurance panel credentialing question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greyish815

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Wondering if any of the licensed people on this thread can shed some light on this topic.

I am a doctoral candidate in clinical psychology and I also have my LPC. I was a master's level clinician before pursuing my doctoral studies (but have not yet gone through the insurance credentialing process--I know it is a nightmare). I am in my final year, working at my APA-accredited internship, my dissertation is completed, etc.

I am looking to get credentialed with insurance panels at the LPC level in order to see some clients in private practice next year and into my post-doc year while I am working on licensure as a psychologist. I know this process takes a while, and my plan is to be on insurance panels by next spring. Anyway, my question is this: if I get on panels as an LPC, might I have a difficult time switching over my license with the insurance companies as a psychologist once I obtain that licensure? Given the nature of insurance companies, my fear is that they might give me a hard time because they may want to pay me the lowest amount possible, and not want to reimburse me at the level of a psychologist. I have no idea if this is a legit concern or not, it's just something that crossed my mind.

Any insight would be helpful. Of course I worked really hard to become a future psychologist and I want to be reimbursed accordingly. There is no comparison to what I knew as a clinician at the master's level versus at the soon-to-be doctoral level (not to mention my experience and skill in psychological assessment), and when I get licensed as a psychologist I should be reimbursed for that level of expertise.

Thank you for the help!

Members don't see this ad.