Interesting Story...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WannabeDoctor91

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I go to a really good undergrad school (HYPSM). I am currently a freshman.

Unfortunately, my mother became really ill during my finals in winter, and I decided to return home to be with my family during these difficult times.

I have stayed by my mother's bedside almost incessantly since I returned home, and I have been marveled by her doctors. The care and hope they bring to her is remarkable, and they are an inspiration to me.

I never knew what I wanted to be growing up, but I now want to be a doctor. It may seem kind of corny, but I genuinely want to spend my life helping people like my mother's doctors have helped her.

Her condition is not improving, and I have decided to take a leave next year, as well, in order to be with her.

However, I also want to complete coursework, and I was thinking that it might be a good idea for me to take my pre-med requirements at the local state university (Top 50). I know from speaking with kids in my dorm that they are insanely hard at my home institution. I am also more of a "fuzzy" than a "techie."

However, I have heard that taking your pre-meds outside of your degree-seeking school can raise a flag among admissions committees. Is this true?

Is taking them back home a good idea, or will it make it difficult for me to become a doctor? Any thoughts on my idea?

Thank you for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

WannabeDoctor91 said:
However, I also want to complete coursework, and I was thinking that it might be a good idea for me to take my pre-med requirements at the local state university (Top 50). I know from speaking with kids in my dorm that they are insanely hard at my home institution. I am also more of a "fuzzy" than a "techie."