International student applying for MD - PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tavakolinadia

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am an international student (Asian) and have acquired my master degree in molecular genetics outside North America. I realized that most schools accepting international students require a degree from the US or Canada or a year or two of study there.
Is there any school that accept international students who have studied outside America or Canada?

Members don't see this ad.

If you haven’t already I recommend getting a subscription to MSAR. It will provide a more comprehensive list of schools and their international student policy.

Reactions: 1 user
My understanding is that international students are ineligible for the federal funding that pays for MD/PhD seats which is why the programs are not open to international students.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you haven’t already I recommend getting a subscription to MSAR. It will provide a more comprehensive list of schools and their international student policy.
Thanks for your reply,
Actually, I checked it out and found about 50 universities accepting internationals. But when I emailed directly to the universities, they said that internationals are required to have a degree or a year of study in the US.

Yeah it's quite difficult for folks without bachelor's/masters degrees from the US. My program historically have had a few people with degrees from abroad, but they either have a master's degree from here or went to an American-style school abroad (think American University of Beirut or NYU Abu Dhabi).