Medical International student - do I have a realistic chance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello :)
I've been following SDN but it's my first time posting, or sharing my information really..... any advice would be deeply appreciated as I'm quite lost...

Status: I'm a Chinese citizen but have been living in Canada for many years, no ties to the US.

Academic: undergrad (physiology) 3.48, Msc (physiology) 3.8
Caveat: I failed an anatomy class in 2nd year uni. I struggled in the first 1.5 year of college as my English was not really good then, and I had some trouble adjusting to the pace, however I steadily improved since then. My MCAT scores are 511 and 518.

Research: 5 years in total. Master's degree (3 year) + 2 years health research employment. 3 first author posters, 1 first +corresponding author review pub.

Clinical experience: hospital volunteer about 150h in college, ~800h scribe, ~50h med mission trip. I shadowed <20h in person as it was hard to shadow in Canada.

Other volunteers: suicide helpline volunteer (~120h and ongoing), church ministry teacher (~100h).

Extracurricular Activities: Started a sewing charity project with a friend which hosted a few activities on campus and donated hand-made dressses overseas, but not as serious as an official club. Other than that... Medtech Hackathon.

Employment History: teaching assistant, research assistant, 2 biotech internships, and now contract research writer for a large charity organization.