Internship as an International student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ebuni-Bunni

Reaction score
I am an international student in a clinical psychology program, getting ready to apply to internship at Post Match starting in March. My school has not completed APA accreditation requirements, our site visit is end of January.

I am so confused as to the procedure for international students on Match as I am the first international student from my program. Anyone care to comment on their experiences as international students applying for Match. I would appreciate any tips or information you have to share.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I did it a few years ago.

It's prettymuch the same through the match, other than that you cannot apply to certain sites (VA, DoD). The changes come with paperwork for starting/onboarding, and you need to resign the position one day early so that you use only CPT and not OPT.

If your program is not accredited, do you go into the match? I thought APPIC made it so only accredited programs participate in the match. Maybe that never went through though.

Reactions: 1 user
2020 MATCH ELIGIBILITY

IMPORTANT NOTE: The applicant eligibility information in this section applies to both phases of the 2020 APPIC Match. Please see the following section for eligibility information for the 2020 APPIC Post-Match Vacancy Service.

Applicants
: An applicant is eligible to participate in the APPIC Match if he/she meets ALL of the following requirements:

1. Is matriculating through a doctoral program that is eligible to participate in the APPIC Match. Applicants who have already graduated from their doctoral programs are not eligible. An eligible doctoral program meets one of the following criteria: