Interview for a staff pharmacist position in a rural Area

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ImmunoglobulinE

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. So I got an interview for a staff Pharmacist position in a rural area. The hospital is a 60 bed acute care facility that use Meditech.

The role involves basic staff Pharmacist roles and clinical duties (vancomycin dosing, pharmacokinetics etc). I would like to get advice on how to beat prepare for the interview. I’m a new grad who just graduated this year and I have zero experience in the hospital setting (only APPEs ) . I have worked retail and LTC as an intern. Let me know if you ll need any more info to make a comprehensive suggestion.

Thanks for the input

Members don't see this ad.

I'd just be ready to prove yourself competent in any number of clinical scenarios. Vancomycin dosing in the context of any interactions, renal impairment, etc. Be aware of appropriate dosing for common hospital meds, renal impairment dosing. Good luck!

Will you possibly be counseling patients upon discharge? Might be worth brushing up on those skills. If someone has 10 meds, how do you train the patient (and family, if applicable) and have them remember meaningful information?

Reactions: 1 user
When I interviewed at a hospital and LTC, they didn't ask any clinical questions. Just general scenario type questions. Name a situation where you had to prioritize tasks and how you did it, name a time you didn't get along with a colleague and how you resolved it, name a time you didn't know how to do something and what you did to figure it out, what do you do to get techs to listen to you, etc. So I would prepare for these as well.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)