Interview Scheduling

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soccerusa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am having kind of a good problem but a problem nonetheless. I am very fortunate to have received seven interviews so far. All of these dates fall in September and I am still an undergrad about to enter a very challenging senior year. I also have one interview left to schedule where the only dates available conflict with other already scheduled interviews. I am a high stat applicant (LizzyM > 79) and I have a few questions for you guys. Also, many of the most competitive schools I applied to have yet to give out interviews.

1) Do students ever decline interviews in these circumstances? The schools I have interviews at range from very competitive schools that I would be ecstatic to attend to those that I look at more as backups.

2) If I did choose to decline to attend an interview, would I want to keep a mix of competitive and less competitive schools? (i.e. make sure to interview at a few safeties where my MCAT > 90th percentile)

3) Is there a number of interviews where one would feel comfortable that they would have at least one acceptance?

4) Any tips people have for navigating this kind of interview season while taking a highly challenging course load? I am particularly nervous as it looks like I will end up missing a lot of my upper division engineering courses while still trying to complete my senior engineering thesis.

Wow that was a lot. I always appreciate any help the SDN community can give.

Members don't see this ad.