Interviewing with full time finance job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

akhart

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all - I work in finance and am not able to tell them I'm applying to med school without losing my job. I can likely take off some Fridays without it being an issue but wanted to get thoughts from others. I applied to 30 schools probably wouldn't so more than 10 interviews (if I'm even offered that many). Do you think this is possible? Anybody in a similar situation?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all - I work in finance and am not able to tell them I'm applying to med school without losing my job. I can likely take off some Fridays without it being an issue but wanted to get thoughts from others. I applied to 30 schools probably wouldn't so more than 10 interviews (if I'm even offered that many). Do you think this is possible? Anybody in a similar situation?

You aren't going to know if it's possible until you see how many and which interviews you start getting. It's going to be tough to get by only with Fridays, though. I found that many Friday interviews required me to take off Thursday as well, since interviews often start early in the morning. Too early to do substantial travel that morning and show up in shape to do an interview. Monday interviews were actually better for me because I could travel on Sunday, do the Monday interview, travel back late Monday night, and show up at work exhausted but at least present on Tuesday morning. I also did a lot of midweek half-days (ie, half day of work on Tuesday, travel Tues night, interview Weds morning, late-night travel back and back at work Thurs morning).

It'll also heavily depend on where you are in the country. I was in the northeast and interviewing in the northeast, south, and midwest only and it was still hard. If you're on the West Coast coming East you'll have a harder time.