Introduction and asking for adivce?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mothman87

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I have been lurking for some time, but decided to finally make this post and ask for some advice as I am currently really struggling.

I am 31 years old married with a 9 year old son. I have taken quite the long way around, but have finally realized that medicine is where my passion is and I would like to at least attempt to attend medical school. Unfortunately, I was less than serious in my previous studies and it's finally coming back to hurt me now. I'll share a little of my educational background for context and then the decision I'm struggling with. I recently graduated with my DNP and will be starting as a FNP in October. Prior to that I worked as an RN in the ER for 2 years, 2 years on an acute telemetry floor, and 1 year as a RN in a long term care center. The reason I want to pursue medicine is that I was disappointed with the depth and breadth of knowledge I learned in NP school and crave the deeper knowledge of medical school. I also desire a larger scope of practice and would specifically like to work in emergency medicine. The issue is with my grades...

sGPA=2.40, undergrad GPA=3.04, graduate GPA=3.51

I have a clear upward trend in my grades and my DNP is from a four year state university system that has associated medical, dental, and pharmacy schools as opposed to a for profit completely online DNP. I know I still need to improve my grades and take some other pre-reqs but am struggling with how I would do it. As I look at it I have three options...

Local CC = Cheaper (I already have $70,000 in student loans), very close to my home, could easily afford it once I start my new job as an FNP, could have the option to take evening classes which would be necessary as after October comes I'll be working 9-5 M-F.