IO line questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LouisianaDoctor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a FM resident that moonlights regularly in the ER at my hospital. Reasonable volume, and rapidly growing (almost 5k visits last month.) We have fantastic docs but some are old school. About half use US, the others don't.

I've read about IO lines and how superior they are to central lines in terms of success rates, ease, and speed. I've never placed one. I want to make a presentation to convince our ER to get a drill and educate us on them.

Anyway, I have a few questions:

1. How do you remove a IO line, and what care is needed for the IO site afterwards? I mean do you just pull the line, hold pressure, and put gauze and a bandaid?

2. My research says IO lines shouldn't really stay in for more than a day. So I'm looking for a reasonable transition (what line to use after the IO is no longer needed) protocol. It seems reasonable that if an IO line is placed, the patient is clearly going to be admitted, so it would be reasonable to just order a PICC line for the next morning and remove the IO line then, or even if peripheral IV access is obtainable after volume resuscitation then use that instead.

3. Don't laugh: it seems no analgesia is used for placing the line. (I don't mean the lidocaine flush after the men is placed.) If you are placing an IO line because you have a severely volume depleted patient, or a very difficult stick, but the patient isn't obtunded, would you provide any local analgesia first?

4. Any thoughts on the costs of a drill? It seems the drills are around $500 with educational sets around $800. How much are the needles themselves? And what is the cost of a central line kit? (To compare them.)