Iowa University of Syracuse

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AuDream

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am completely torn between these schools and I am hoping for advice on where to go! I am very interested in research and I am planning to complete my pHD. Iowa, as most people have seen on the US News Report is ranked #2 and has a very research oriented program. This ranking system, which I am not too sure is of any value seems to be what is keeping my interest and I dont know how great of a pull that is. Syracuse although ranked lower (21) has offered me a full scholarship for my first year and is building a brand new facility for this upcoming September. I was curious to know if anyone has any experience with these two schools or which would be a better option for my interest. Any direction would be of great help!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know much about Syracuse, but I'm an undergraduate senior in the department at Iowa. Iowa's my first choice, but I was waitlisted. I've decided to wait it out though because I'm in-state and it just make sense. I, too, am interested in obtaining my Aud/PhD. Iowa gets a LOT of funding for their research projects and all the professors are great/helpful people. The building is pretty old and they're not going to get a new one any time soon (due to the flood in 2008). I'm not too impressed with some of their placements, but that's because the state of Iowa doesn't have a lot of hearing clinics in general. I would assume that New York would have many more. Iowa's hospital is a big benefit to the program though. They have a lot of resources for us in terms of research and the Oto clinic is busy. But I will say, it's rare you'll land a job there after graduation (because of what they call "inbreeding").