Is it good possibility to get accepted to top-tier medical school with completing most prerequisite courses?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

asaren

Reaction score
I am a junior student in Engineering major at service academy. I have excellent GPA and MCAT results and all required extracurricular work for top-tier medical school. However I coudn't fit all prerequisite courses within my 4 years, due to the engineering major courseload, research project, sport activity, and other duties. The course I have taken:
  • 1 year of English
  • 1 semester of Gen Chem (special concentrated course) +lab
  • 1 year of Org Chem +lab
  • 1 semester of Biochem
  • 1 year of Physics +lab
  • 1 year of Biology +lab
  • 1 year of Math: Difference Equation and Statistics
Other prerequisite courses for most medical school that I haven't taken:
  • 1 semester of Chem
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Genetics
What are my chance for top-tier medical school? I am worried for lacking another semeter of Gen Chem. It will be very difficult to be squeezed in next year.
If my chance is good, I will also have a better chance to go into medical school directly upon graduation. If not, I will serve for 5 years which is very good expirence for me before applying the medcial school again. If I really need to take the remaining courses, What choice do I have to take the remainging courses after my service time? Post-Bac program is quite expensive and most programs are required to retake the course I alreaday taken or be there at least a year. Do the top-tier medical schools accept open-enrollment course credit from extension school or continue education institute?

Members don't see this ad.