Is it worth taking a sociology class for the MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1136042

Should I take a sociology class to prepare for the MCAT? Or is self studying the content extremely doable?

I don't need sociology to graduate/ declare my major, so it does kind of seem like a waste of a class slot in exchange for unnecessary work

Members don't see this ad.

I am not an expert, but I did not take sociology before taking the MCAT, and I was satisfied with my performance on the P/S section. I think that self-studying is certainly possible, and the only resources I paid for were from AAMC.

Self studying the content is doable and you do not need to take a sociology class to do exceptionally well in that section.

Members don't see this ad :)
How broad is the content on the MCAT for sociology? Did you find yourself needing to spend more than a week to learn all the applicable topics related to sociology, assuming you scored 131+ on P/S

I scored a 131 on the Psych/Soc section of the MCAT. I took a sociology class in college and the MCAT a couple of years later. It didn't help. If anything, the concepts tested on the MCAT are very cut and dry and taking a sociology class might make it worse. Right now, as I am preparing for USMLE Step 2, it's the same thing where I am trying to separate what's true in clinic versus on board exams.

Reactions: 2 users
How broad is the content on the MCAT for sociology? Did you find yourself needing to spend more than a week to learn all the applicable topics related to sociology, assuming you scored 131+ on P/S