Is med school or residency better?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted445355

Hi guys,

I'm a 1st year medical student interested in pursuing dermatology. I was just wondering if all you residents feel that residency or medical school is better and why. I keep telling myself that things will get better in residency, but I am also aware that residency presents an entire spectrum of new challenges. Would appreciate any insight from you all!

PP

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys,

I'm a 1st year medical student interested in pursuing dermatology. I was just wondering if all you residents feel that residency or medical school is better and why. I keep telling myself that things will get better in residency, but I am also aware that residency presents an entire spectrum of new challenges. Would appreciate any insight from you all!

PP

I think residency is better than medical school. Though, this may be specific to derm residency...which is def way different than most residencies.

Pros: You get a salary ($$$), you get to concentrate on something you love (rather than all areas of medicine), there's less pressure to "impress" people and the motivation for learning becomes more about making sure you're a good physician for your patients rather than "getting the grade".
Negatives (some could also be positives): More responsibility, higher overall performance expectations to meet, more strict work schedule (at least compared to MS1/2 years), there's still lots of studying to be done (though will admit I'd rather study derm than many other areas of medicine....even if it's genodermatoses).

Reactions: 2 users
I think residency is better than medical school. Though, this may be specific to derm residency...which is def way different than most residencies.