Is psych right for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Braindrayn

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone it appears that as 3rd year is winding down for many of us we are all trying to figure out what to do with our lives and I'm no different in that regard which is why I am making this post! So right now I'm trying to decide between either applying to IM and now more recently psych. The reason I'm thinking psych now over IM is I took a good long look at what I was passionate about and I realized I wanted to know more about the mind-brain interface. While I did enjoy IM I did not LOVE it to the extent I thought I would.

I'm an MD/PhD student who finished his PhD in Biochemistry in a field totally unrelated to Psych but what I did learn about was a lot about protein structure/function and drug design concepts which I could easily see being applied to psychopharmacology. As a field that is relatively not as well represented in terms of research I really could see myself making at least some what of a working stab at trying to understand what this black box is that we call the brain/mind. For me the research in understanding mental illness at least from a materialist perspective looks bright for the near future. This is not to mention that in other fields of medicine a lot of the "low hanging fruit" has been taken so to speak.