Is Stony Brook friendly towards women getting pregnant while in med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Goldenhair

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to be an MS1, and I need to decide VERY promptly between Stony Brook and Downstate. I am an older student and am thinking about having a baby while in med school. I am trying to figure out if it is going to be possible at Stony Brook. (I was already told Downstate was good for it, but I am leaning towards Stony Brook overall).

How flexible is the administration? Is it possible to skip lectures or are they mandatory? How many days a week and hours a day will I HAVE to be there versus studying on my own? Will they allow to take a year off to have a baby? I really want to go to Stony and I hope they are flexible and understanding about this. Did you or anyone you know have a baby while at Stony? Please share your experiences. :)

Members don't see this ad.

I am going to be an MS1, and I need to decide VERY promptly between Stony Brook and Downstate. I am an older student and am thinking about having a baby while in med school. I am trying to figure out if it is going to be possible at Stony Brook. (I was already told Downstate was good for it, but I am leaning towards Stony Brook overall).

How flexible is the administration? Is it possible to skip lectures or are they mandatory? How many days a week and hours a day will I HAVE to be there versus studying on my own? Will they allow to take a year off to have a baby? I really want to go to Stony and I hope they are flexible and understanding about this. Did you or anyone you know have a baby while at Stony? Please share your experiences. :)

Personally, I'd contact both Stony Brook and Downstate and ask these questions directly instead of hoping for anecdotal information. That way you have a better understanding of school policy's directly from those who make them.