Is this feasable?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bake89

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'll *try* to keep this story short and to the point.

I'm currently a sophomore at Southern Illinois University - Edwardsville. My freshman year here was spent mostly taking general education classes due to not knowing what I wanted to major in, and being more or less scared away from majors I was interested in (partly because of poor advisement and also my own naivety). I'm now a Computer Science major. In my second semester as a CS major (right now), I've been second guessing what fields and courses of study actually interest me. After having these thoughts - I was trying to figure out what I'd do instead. I have realized I enjoy the Chemistry course I am in, and I also enjoyed the Biology class I took last summer. I did very well in these classes, and am doing well in second semester Chemistry. Since Biology and Chemistry (mostly science in general) seem to interest me (and are strengths for me), and the medical field is a practical application of these studies, I figured that pursuing medical school (or pharmacy school) would be a good idea. The thorn in my side is my GPA. I'm afraid to pursue these paths, since I am currently sitting at a 3.543 cumulative GPA. I did not take college seriously my freshman year, and ended up with a ~3.3 for that year. When I started computer science last semester, I got my *** in gear and pulled a 4.0 that semester, and now am attempting to repeat that, although Calculus is making that difficult (86%). I'm getting As in my other classes.

In summary - I have a 3.543, and I'm really afraid that this doesn't make me very competitive. Is pursuing medical or pharmacy school a pipe dream?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: