Is this good enough to apply to Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hilbertparker

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am a junior in college, and my major is Biochem. These are my statistics:

GPA: 3.5

MCAT: 26

PS: 8
BS: 13
VR: 5

GenBio 1, 2: B, A
GenChem 1, 2: AP Credits
OChem 1, 2: AB, A
PChem 1, 2: AB, AB
Cal 1, 2, 3: AP Credits, A, A
Physics 1, 2: B, AB

All of my Labs are A

I have been doing volunteer works at a hospital since my freshman year (3 hours per week) and working part time at a restaurant as a student manager.

I am applying to Medical School of Wisconsin and Madison Med School.

So what is my chance ?

Members don't see this ad.

Very low. With those stats I would apply to about 25-30 schools, and I'd be sure to include DO.

Retake the MCAT, aim to boost verbal to a 8-10 and physical sciences to 9+.

Members don't see this ad :)
Retake. Aim for AT LEAST an 8 in each section. Your chances will also depend on your extracurricular activities (which I hope are above average).

If you can score a 13 in the BS section, there's no reason you shouldn't be scoring > 8 in the others. A 5 in verbal reasoning is absolutely not gonna work out. Study, retake, and apply with a 31+, which I'm certain you're capable of.

Your chances of landing MD are pretty much nothing. DO maybe if you applied broadly and early, but that VR will screen you at most schools.

Only applied to 2 schools? Goodness...apply to far more, especially those within your stats. Consider DO.

Whats an 'AB'? Is that like an A-?

Assuming this is a serious post (and it seems like it is), your absolute best bet (and bang-for-your buck) would be to re-take the MCAT. If you can get 13 in BS you can def get 8-10 in VR and a 10-12 in PS.