Is this malpractice? Just exactly how negligent is this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pneumothorax

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Caribbean student, and we "get" to rotate through all of the departments at our local hospital. I saw this autopsy, and here is what went down:

80 year old woman presents with sudden onset of severe stomach pain, vomiting, pain in her back and shoulders. Diagnosed with gastritis and sent home with prilosec....where she died.

Autopsy reveals major MI (there was a hole in the left ventricle!!!). She had reported no history of heart trouble, but there was evidence of several prior MIs.

When I heard the history, I immediately thought MI, but I linked the pain in the back and shoulders to cardiac mainly because she was dead, and, well...MIs tend to be rather deadly.

In any case, when I found out what they did in the ER here, I was aghast...but I wanted to find out here: did the ER on this third world island screw up? Would you have done an EKG?

This is purely a matter of curiosity. I don't know her family and the courts here don't really do anything, so its not like anyone is going to get into trouble. Unfortunately, I think....

So yeah, when do you order an EKG vs. just call the patient's symptoms gastritis and send them home?

Members don't see this ad.

You would definitely get an EKG in the US.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
No, we wouldn't have been negligent in the US. We would have cathed her, put her in the unit, intubated her and put her on a balloon pump. A month later, after incurring a bill of millions of dollars, she would have died of hospital acquired pneumonia or line sepsis.

80 year old lady with severe CAD. The grim reaper was knocking on the door. Don't fight it. Death is not the enemy. The fear of death is the enemy.

Sounds like she was having "the big one."