Job Advice? Stay with Retail or Med Writing or something else

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Auriel619

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

So I was recently offered a position in med writing in a saturated area and I'm weighing the pros and cons of the position. Definitely looking for your thoughts on the topic.

I've been working in the retail setting for a few years now and I've never really enjoyed the community setting. The store I'm in is incredibly hectic and I'm still unused to the 14 hour-standing-all-day shifts. I've been applying to a variety of med writing jobs and was just offered a position in a moderate-sized metro area, but the position is contractual 6-months and the pay is about half of what I earn in retail (~55k/year). With taxes and everything, take home is probably ~30k/year. yikes.

It's definitely hard to take the pay cut for a temporary position, but the position does offer a possible opportunity to springboard into industry, maybe an agency, or out of retail. It's definitely hard to see that paycut and not wince, but at the same time I'm absolutely burned out from working in the retail setting.

Should I decline this position and keep looking? Take it, work for ~6months and then find something else? In terms of finances I've got enough saved up to be unemployed for ~6 months.

Members don't see this ad.

That's too large of a paycut for a chance at an industry career unless you have a spouse that can support the both of you financially while you transition, or if the contract job doesn't lead to something bigger.
I'd keep looking, maybe outside of med writing since that's fairly low pay? MSL, regulatory, med info?

Do they pay more after some experience or are all med writing jobs 55K per year?

No they definitely do pay more with experience but this would be entry level. Even so it's definitely very low-ball.