Job switch dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bacillus1

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have previously posted the downsides of my job in this forum....basically it's really stressful, no time for lunch, sometimes overnights by myself, etc. I am currently a medicine pharmacist in a hybrid model, and I have an opportunity to go into an LTC type environment. The new job would have no late evening, night, weekend or holiday responsibilities and would be much less stressful. Sounds great and all, but the only problem is that although it's still a hybrid position, it is more staffing and less clinical (though there are still some clinical responsibilities such as anticoag/PK on a few patients and LTC monthly notes for a few patients), so it wouldn't look as great on my resume as my current job. So here's my dilemma: less stress but less clinical position, or more stress but more clinical position (and therefore better-looking resume if I ever decide to leave the health system). I've been debating this for a month and still not sure what to do; need to decide within the next few weeks. I don't expect SDN to come up with a decision for me, but just wanted to see what people think.

Members don't see this ad.

If it were me, I would at least give the long term care a shot. You can always work there for a year or two; if you decide you don't like it or want to be more clinical, I don't think having a long term care position on your resume for a short time period is really going to hurt you for going back into a more clinical position. Just my two cents. A little stress is okay with me, but I wouldn't want a really stressful job. Plus no evenings/holidays/weekends sounds awesome!

Reactions: 1 user