Letter of Recommendation from laboratory professor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cjbmwm3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN,

Firstly, I attend a large public university and I was a transfer student, so in the short time I've been there ito has been extremely difficult to connect much with a professor that could write letters of recommendation for me. The first person that came to mind that I became closest with is my orgo lab professor, since it was a smaller class size I was able to communicate with him more than the large lecture classes. Would it be okay to have a lab professor write a LOR? He is a PhD and adjunct faculty I believe. I excelled in his lab and got an A+.

Another option would be my anatomy professor with whom I connected with almost as much as the forementioned orgo lab prof., maybe slightly less. I did fairly well in her class (A-) and I got to talk to her in the lab section of the course. She is also a PhD.

My last option would probably be a professor who has been my undergraduate advisor, but I haven't taken any courses with him. We haven't had much of a connection other than discussing my desire to go to dental school and discussing advising matters.

My other LORs will be from my boss who is anot orthodontist and the other a long time friend of mine who is a general dentist.

I apologize for the length of this but I wanted to explain my situation in order to get a good opinion from you guys/gals.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I think as long as they are professors it should be fine. (though i heard research lab professor LOR's are not good at some schools)
LOR's are more about your relationship with professors rather than just the academic achievement which can be seen on your transcript.

I was in the same situation in a large public school and I actually didnt even realize I wanted to be a dentist until the end of my last year.