Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ilikecake

2021 (ᵔᴥᵔ)
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am a first time applicant this coming cycle. I'm very excited begin working on my app next week :) I have a question about LoRs for anyone who may be able to help:
I am a non-traditional student, and graduated undergrad in 2012. That being said, I don't keep in touch with any professors that I had, nor did I have any who I was particularly close to during this time. I did, however take two classes at a different college more recently. I did well in both, and am debating on of those teachers. The first class was an upper level science class, and although I didn't really talk to the professor as it wasn't lab based or anything, but I know she knows who I am. This professor is very successful and has many published articles, research, PhD, etc. The other class was an experience class where we spent two days taking care of/learning on the "job" of laboratory animals. This teacher I was very close with, and we got to know each other very well. However, she isn't a "professor" and only ran this one course. I'm pretty sure she only has a BS in Biology, and nothing beyond that.
I know that most school want one letter of recommendation from a professor. What are your guys' thoughts about this? I'm not sure which to ask for a letter.