Life Ending?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xscpx

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I received an email from the financial aid office saying they are cutting my funding after spring because of my "satisfactory academic progress". Pretty much, they think I've taken too many classes and shout be done. Well, I've only been in school for two and a half years! I do have two majors though and I'm an Honors College student so I've taken many classes. What can I do? I have a year left to finish both degrees (pre-reqs included) and I won't qualify for a student loan (bad credit). What options do I have? Has anyone heard of this? Why didn't they tell me this when they told me to declare two majors? Is it only because the economy of the state of Florida is crashing?

I sort of feel like everything is ending before it even started. I was thinking of talking to my anthropology department chair and seeing if he would given me conditional Graduate student status since I am two classes away from completely the Anthropology degree. If my status was changed I think I would be eligible for aid again, but theb I would have a masters degree to complete as well...solves one problem creates 10 more...

If anyone has been through something similar or has any ideas how I can stay in school, please help me!

Members don't see this ad.

Well, personally I live off of student loans. I was expecting a certain amount for when Winter Quarter begins and I received an email stating that I was no longer eligible for a Stafford Unsubsidized loan and that they were scaling back my Subsidized loan to only 400 per quarter for the remainder of the year. I tried talking to my financial aid office but I didn't get any answers at all.

It isn't just Florida , but rather the US.