List of Schools Please?? Low GPA-Average MCAT- Post Bac Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iAmPeign2

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. Im currently a California post bac student, finishing up my last semester.
My GPA is very low (3.36 as an undergrad, managed to pull it up to 3.39 after first semester of post bac because I got a 3.9 GPA that semester... hoping ill pull it up to 3.42/3.43 by the end of May 2018)

I took the MCAT thrice, got a 501, 503, and a 508.

Attempt 1: 128/124/124/125 (yeah... definitely should have voided-very emberassed)
Attempt 2: 128/122/129/124 (CARS and P/S major problems)
Attempt 3: 127/126/127/128 (pretty balanced, down in some sections)

my EC list is pretty solid, I have extensive volunteering and shadowing hours. Ive volunteered at hospitals, clinics, and a private practice, and have community based worked and volunteering as well along with teaching/tutoring, and working with the elderly and disabled. Extracurriculars also include 3.5 years of research, an independent research project for which I wrote a paper (not published yet), poster presentations for research proposals, and even some outlandish stuff like dance, etc

My LORs list is from my undergrad professors, 2 physicians thus far (hoping to make it to 3), my PI, one of my post bac professors.

That was a lot!

So I was wondering what a decent list of schools should be for someone like me? Ive inputted my data onto the wedge spreadsheet and see that I should be applying to the low tier schools, but upon further researching those schools, I see their average GPAs and MCATs are pretty up there too (with lots of 3.6-3.7 average entering class GPAs and 510-512 MCATs)