Technology Looking at a new Laptop

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Caesar

In Memory of Riley Jane
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone have anything to say about this Laptop I have picked out?

I am not very tech savvy anymore and only use computer for Internet, Word, Powerpoint, iTunes, and maybe to burn a DVD from time to time. On a very rare occasions I use Fireworks to edit an image. These are the Specs on the Lenovo I am looking at, My price range was under 1,000 and this comes in just over 800.

I want to take it with me to class and I am told the battery life runs at around the 4 hour mark which is all I'd really need.

(My current laptop is ~4 years old and has a battery life of 30 mins on a good day, 10 on a busy one).

ThinkPad SL400 Series - 1Year Depot
c.gif

- Intel Core 2 Duo Processor P8400 (2.26GHz 1066MHz 3MBL2) 25W
- Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium
- 14.1" WXGA AntiGlare
-Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X4500
- 3 GB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz SODIMM Memory (2 DIMM)
- UltraNav with fingerprint reader
- 160 GB Hard Disk Drive, 5400rpm
- DVD Recordable 8x Max Dual Layer
- No Bluetooth
- ThinkPad 11b/g Wireless LAN Mini PCI Express Adapter III
bk_bullet.gif
6 cell Li-Ion Battery ( 2.4 Ah )

Members don't see this ad.

Isn't Windows 7 expected to come out in a few months? If so I would wait for that to come out before getting your computer. Buy a new battery to hold yourself over if you need to.

Members don't see this ad :)
Isn't Windows 7 expected to come out in a few months? If so I would wait for that to come out before getting your computer. Buy a new battery to hold yourself over if you need to.
Win 7 = Christmas Season 2009/Q1 2010.

you can also use the pretty stable windows 7 beta and its cool. so yeah, that or just plunk down for it when the time comes. I wouldn't wait for a new OS for that.