LOR confusion!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Driller23

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am a student at UBC (Canada of course)...a huge school, with all first year chem, bio, phys classes having over 250 students. And I am currently a 5th year student. just about to graduate. Therefore, my bio, phys, chem profs from 1st, 2nd, and even 3 rd year dont remember or even know of my existence. Therefore there is no way i can ask them for LORs.

However, on the upside, I have done lab internships (research) and do know profs (all in biomedical sciences like Microbiology and Surgery), and they know me very well too...and hopefully think highly of me. BUT THEY WERE NEVER MY INSTRUCTORS FOR ANY OF THE CLASSES I TOOK.

So when Dental schools say they need LORs from SCIENCE professors, would letters from the professors whom I worked for suffice???? Or should they have formally taught me in a class?? Does anyone know the answer to this for sure?

If LORs from these professors wont cut it, then I am pretty much screwed...help..

Members don't see this ad.

Driller23 said:
Hi Guys,

I am a student at UBC (Canada of course)...a huge school, with all first year chem, bio, phys classes having over 250 students. And I am currently a 5th year student. just about to graduate. Therefore, my bio, phys, chem profs from 1st, 2nd, and even 3 rd year dont remember or even know of my existence. Therefore there is no way i can ask them for LORs.

However, on the upside, I have done lab internships (research) and do know profs (all in biomedical sciences like Microbiology and Surgery), and they know me very well too...and hopefully think highly of me. BUT THEY WERE NEVER MY INSTRUCTORS FOR ANY OF THE CLASSES I TOOK.