Low GPA. Is dental school still even an option?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

loveforscience64

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a non-traditional student and I graduated from undergraduate with a degree in mathematics. I am looking at making a career change and I am very interested in dentistry. I shadowed two dentists and one orthodontist and I loved my shadowing experience but my undergraduate gpa is a 2.8 which is considered low for most graduate programs. I have considered doing a post-baccalaureate program but I would like to stay in my state and I am covering the cost of the program myself. I live in a small city so I only have a private college, my undergraduate university, and a community college available to me in close driving distance. I absolutely hated my time at the university that I graduated from so I would very much not like to go back, the private college is the most expensive out of the three but they have a formal post-baccalaureate program and it is the closest to where I live, and the community college is the least expensive out of the three. Is it still even possible to get my gpa up to a 3.0? I know taking the prerequisites at a community college will limit the number of schools I can apply to but do dental schools frown on applicants who take their prerequisites at a community college? Should I save money and go with the community college option? Would taking the prerequisites at a formal post-baccalaureate like the one offered at the private college be a better option? I don’t have any SMPs in my state and most of the Master’s programs want applicants to have most of the prerequisites completed before applying and I have not started any yet. No matter which option I choose it would more than likely be funded by loans so I am trying to make the best financial decision. I need advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: